Book Week 2015

This year the Children’s Book Council of Australia is celebrating its 70th Anniversary of Book Week!Β  This years theme is

book week

 

Over the past 2 weeks Mrs. Baldwin has been reading us the books that have been shortlisted for this year. The books we have read are:

untitled

untitled untitled

 

pig the pug go to sleep jessie blankets snail noni

book43

We have done many things this week as a school and also as a class to celebrate Book Week.

Whole School Dress Up and Parade

On Wednesday our school dressed up in our favourite book characters and held an assembly in Wittunga Hall where we had a parade. This was a lot of fun and it was terrific to see everyone dressed up in a variety of characters.

IMG_8149 IMG_8148

IMG_8055 IMG_8110 IMG_8062 IMG_8063 IMG_8064 IMG_8070

 

Shine a Light Production

The whole school had the opportunity to watch the production called ‘Shine a Light’. This involved 2 characters going on an adventure and meeting other characters from some of the shortlisted books of 2015. The books that featured in the production were: Two Blankets, Scary Night and The Duck and the Darklings.

IMG_8138 IMG_8137 IMG_8139

 

Ms Sweeney Activity in the Library

Our class and Miss Medhurst’s year 3 class buddied up and participated in an activityΒ  with Ms Sweeney. To begin with Ms Sweeney read us a book called…

fire

We then did an art activity where we recreated the bushfire using water colours and paint. We used orange, yellow and blue water colours to paint the background.Β  We then placed small droplets of black paint onto the paper and used a straw to blow the paint so that it would spread in different directions so they looked like burnt trees.

IMG_8128 IMG_8136 IMG_8135 IMG_8134 IMG_8133 IMG_8120

Book Week Lanterns

As this year the theme was ‘Books light up our world,’ we decided to make lanterns. We had a picture of our favourite book at the front and we placed a candlelight inside so that it would light up our books. We also wrote a small book recommendation stating why people should read our chosen book and what our favourite part was in the story. These are nowΒ all hung in the hallway near our room and they look beautiful when the lights are off and the candles are shining.

IMG_8003 IMG_8004 IMG_8006 IMG_8007 IMG_8013 IMG_8014 IMG_8015

It has been a massive week!!

book00047

What have you enjoyed the most about book week this year and why?

Which book did you enjoy and why?

What did you dress up as this year?

11 thoughts on “Book Week 2015

  1. I dressed up as willy wonky and my fav rote bit about it is was reading all the books my fa rote book was pig the pug

  2. Dear mrs Baldwin,
    My favourite thing that we did in book week was probably when we had the massive parade it was funny looking at everyone’s costume.

    My favourite book that we all read was pig the pug because their pictures were very detailed and funny and I just love pugs because of their smoothed face their so cute.

    I dressed up as a soccer player their a German team and their in lots of soccer magazines and my favourite things to read is probably soccer magazines because sometimes they show if someone’s transferred to a different club or it might show news on a player. From Kayne

  3. dear mrs Baldwin,

    For book week I dressed up as captain America and the thing I enjoyed most about book week is that we get to dress up as people from books and I really seeing the other costumes and lastly I am happy we have book week.

    From Jude

  4. Dear Mrs Baldwin
    I did something different this year I did Twedle dumb and Grayson was Tweddle dee we made our costume out of scratch we had a colourful hat and black and white striped socks and a over sized Te shirt and duck tape rapped around it with red bracers and black shorts and black freckles.

  5. Dear Mrs Baldwin, what I mostly enjoyed about book week this year was the lantern because Iit was fun to make them.My book I enjoyed the most was Pig the pug because it was funny and I like pugs.😊😊😊😊

  6. Dear Miss Baldwin
    I liked the dressing up and shine a light concert.
    My favourite book was pig the pug because it was funny.
    I dressed up as thing 2.
    From Elyssa πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ΅

  7. Dear miss Baldwin I enjoyed the shine a light peformance because it had all different books and I like reading picture books and it was a bit funny . This year I dressed up as the cat in the hat . My favourite book was pig the pug because I like pugs and I love dogs from Jessicam .πŸ¬πŸ΅πŸΊπŸ…πŸ‰πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

  8. Dear Mrs Baldwin, my favourite thing about book week was making the lanterns it was a lot of fun.

    Dear Mrs Baldwin, I enjoyed pig the pug because it was funny and I’ve got two puggle puppies at home Milo and Otis.

    Dear Mrs Baldwin, I dressed up as a dinosaur a Tyrannosaurus rex to be exact. From kain M

  9. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    I enjoyed PIG THE PUG because he is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE , fat and greedy.
    I dressed up as a zombie for book week because I like zombiesπŸ˜ƒ and I couldn’t think of anything else

  10. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    What I enjoyed most about book week was dressing up and using our favourite book on the lantern. My favourite picture book that you read to us was the stone lion. I liked it because the stone lion helped Sara and her baby brother. What I dressed up foe book week was Alice-Miranda at school.
    From Hannah

  11. Dear miss Bladwin,

    i loved dress up and and i wish i was on more than one day a year. like a week

    from Jessica g

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *