Measurement Competition

Recently we took part in a measuring competition as a class.

Our task was to work in our table groups and use our rulers to measuring different stops of paper in centimetres. The only hints we had was that no strip in all 4 coloured bags were the same length and the answers would either be whole centimetres like 18cm or 5cm or they were half centimetres such as 21.5cm or 14.5cm.

It was really important to work as a team and make sure we used our measuring skills that we discussed as a class in the previous lesson. These skills included; lining the 0 up with the end of the paper to measure, holding the ruler straight, reading a ruler correctly and using the correct units of measurement.

Watch our videos below of us working together as teams by communicating and helping each other and using mathematical language.

IMG 3868 from skye baldwin on Vimeo.

IMG 3865 from skye baldwin on Vimeo.

IMG 3867 from skye baldwin on Vimeo.

IMG 3869 from skye baldwin on Vimeo.

IMG 3870 from skye baldwin on Vimeo.

The competition had 4 rounds and the team that won each round by receiving the most correct measurements won 3 Dojo points each!

 What was the hardest thing about measuring the strips of paper accurately?

What do you need to make sure you do when measuring the length of an item?

What did you enjoy most about this activity?

12 thoughts on “Measurement Competition

  1. Dear Mrs Baldwin,

    What I found hard about this task was lining up the strips of paper
    with the number zero but I had help from my team mates.

    What you needed to do while measuring the item was:
    *make sure you lined it up properly with zero.
    *make sure you wrote cm(abbreviation for centimetres)after the measurement.
    *make sure the strip is nice and strait

    what I enjoyed the most about this activity was:
    *working as team
    *dojo points involved
    *got to mark other peoples
    *using rulers

    From Anah

  2. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    I think the hardest thing about measuring the strips was making sure the strip was not bent also to make sure you did the correct answer.

    You need to make sure that your strip is exactly on the zero also to make sure that your strip is straight not bent.
    From Gracie

  3. dear Mrs Baldwin,
    I think that when you measure items you need to make
    sure that the zero is lined up. I enjoy having dojo
    points involved.
    From Josh

  4. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    The hardest thing about the activity was measuring the huge strips of paper.I think it was hard because when the ruler went to the 30 mark, it was hard to get it starting were it was and you had to make it exactly on the zero or it would be wrong.
    What I liked about the activity is that you had to work as a team and communicate a lot.

    From Asha

  5. Dear Mrs Baldwin
    the thing I enjoyed about the measuring was you and your team mates got three dojo points each , and that if you where stuck on a measurement you friends\ team mates could help you

  6. Dear Mrs Baldwin,

    I think the hardest thing about measuring the strips was when I was measuring a strip that was longer than the ruler and you had too mark where the end of the ruler was.

    The thing I liked the most was that you could win dojo points and because we were good we won 9 points each so we got the most!

    From Noah.

  7. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    I think that the hardest thing about measuring the tapes was that the tapes bent.
    Make sure you don’t start at the one, start at the zero.
    I liked working as a team.

    From Charlie Kay

  8. Dear Mrs Baldwin, I thought the maths comp was really important because the whole class used TEAM WORK!!!!!! I’m really proud of the winning team and I thought it was really fun
    From FATE.

  9. Dear Mrs Baldwinn,
    The hardest thing about measuring strips was that you didn’t know what was the correct answer was and that everyone wanted dojo points.
    That the eage of the item on the zero of the ruler and measure from there.
    I am not sure about what my favourite thing because I enjoyed all of it.
    From Ella

  10. Dear Mrs B

    I really enjoyed the measuring challenge the hard thing about it was trying to measure the pieces of paper because every body yelling and communicating so you could’t focus.

    From Luke

  11. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    The thing I enjoyed most about measuring the strips is the fact that its a
    competition and you get Dojo Points if you measure them correctly.

    The hardest thing about measuring the strips to me was making sure the ruler is
    in a straight line.
    Ilya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *