Book Week 2014

It is finally here! It’s Book Week this week and the theme this year is …

CONNECT TO READING

This is a great theme as our class have already looked at making connections with texts earlier this year as its one of the comprehension strategies for reading.

Making connections is where readers connect with a book they read which allows readers to understand the book better.

There are three ways we make connections with a book

connectionconnectionconnection

To help celebrate book week our class has created a new display outside our room where you can find pictures of all the books that have been shortlisted this year for an award. The winners will be announced at the end of the week! Mrs Baldwin has been reading some of these shortlisted books each day and they will be available to borrow from the library. Some of the books we have read are….

book week book week

book week

book week

For a class activity we chose a book each from the library and read them quietly. We then designed a thinking bubble where we wrote a connection we made with the book. Our connections and a picture of us reading our books are also on our book week display!

book week book weekbook week

Grange Primary also had a dress up day and parade on Tuesday to celebrate Book Week. We could dress up as our favourite book character or something relating to this years theme. Check out some of our outfits!

book week book week book week book week book week book week

We also partnered up with our CAT buddies from Room 13 and had Ms Sweeney read a book called ‘King Pig’ which is shortlisted for an award this year. We then did an activity involving us making a connection with the book and making it into a paper chain. These chains and some pictures are displayed in the library.

book week

book week

There are also some making connections activities using some books online. Check them out here!

It was a great week and we all enjoyed making connections and having fun with books!

What did you enjoy most about book week?

What connection did you make with a book you have read recently?

Which book  did you enjoy the most from the book week shortlists and why? 

20 thoughts on “Book Week 2014

  1. dear mrs baldwin

    the most i enjoyed about book week is
    when we got to show of our book week
    characters in the parade in the morning
    in the quad on tuesday at 9:00 am

  2. Dear Mrs Baldwin
    The thing I enjoyed the most about book week parade because I saw heaps of awesome costumes like little red riding hood,green lantern,batman spider man,super man ,flash,wunses like,tiger British ones and monkey ones. and we got to show of are costumes to the whole school.

  3. Dear Mrs Baldwin

    I enjoyed the prayed the most because i liked looking at all the spectacular outfits i’ll name some of them hulk,spider man,football players,joker and iron man. And that is why i like it.

    From Lachie

  4. Dear Mrs Baldwin,

    the thing I most enjoyed about book week was the dress up day it was so much fun and I loved reading some of the short listed books and I wonder which book will win but I give all my regards to Miss Sweeny for making all of this happen other wise we wouldn’t have book week.
    The book I am reading is the DORK DIARIES the only reason I think this relates to me is because the girl in the book is a lot like me she likes to write in her diary, she has a younger child in the family and that she loves to wear piggy tales.

    From Karina

    1. Dear Karina,
      I also think that king pig and silver buttons was very good but I liked the SWAP better because it was very instresting because the girl was gelose of her little brother getting all the attention.
      I also liked the pictures in the SWAP because you could see things quiet clearly.

      From Asha

  5. Dear Mrs Baldwin what I enjoyed most about book week is when the parade started I was really nervous about walking in front of the whole school i loved everybody else’s costume they must of put a lot of effort in to buying it
    from Lewis.

  6. Dear Mrs Baldwin

    The thing I liked most about book week was the parade because we got to dress up as lots of cool things. I dressed up as Harry Potter and my brother dressed up as Geronimo Stilton. My little brother Oliver didn’t ant to miss out either so he dressed up in a tiger onesie and held my hand whilst we paraded. The book I liked the most in book week is parachute because it teaches you how to overcome your fears.

  7. Dear mrs Baldwin
    the book I enjoyed the most was king pig, because it has a couple lessons in it like. Don’t be greedy, care for others, help others, don’t be bossy,don’t bully people and don’t let people do all your work for you and don’t be self minded.

    1. Dear Panashe,
      I loved King Pig but my favrioute book was Silver Buttons probobly because the author was really creative.
      And Panashe did you like the activety with Miss Sweeny?
      From Karina

  8. Dear Mrs B

    The bit I enjoyed most about book week was I dressed up and seeing everyones costumes and reading the picture books.

    The book I liked most that was shortlisted was king pig because it was funny and it had a good moral.

    From Luke

  9. Dear Mrs Baldwin, i as most people enjoyed the parade most of all i’m so glad we got to dress up!! i want to thank Mrs S for putting it together. With out her we could not have a book week.

    The book i mostly found delightful was silver buttons. what i liked was the fact he wrote everything going on when her brother was stepping
    From Megan

  10. Dear Mrs Baldwin I loved working with our cat buddies and what does cat stand for and i also loved reading some picture books i think connect to reading is a very nice theme for book week what is the next theme going to be
    from lewis

  11. Dear Mrs Baldwin, my favourite part about book week was the parade on the day I dressed up as wolverine and I had lots of pictures with my friends. I really can’t decide what my favourite shortlisted book is I like lots of them. An I’m having a GREAT BOOK WEEK !!!!!!!!
    from FATE

  12. Dear mrs Baldwin,
    I enjoyed dressing up as our fauvarite
    book character I went as Pamela from thea Stilton it was a lot of fun.
    I also enjoyed the big parade where everyone got to show there costumes.

    Me and Gracie, anika and Anah all went as mice from thea Stilton we had Pland to go to west lakes but we all got so confused so we just went by our selfs.

    Every thing was great on book week.
    From jess

  13. Dear mrs Baldwin,
    I enjoy book week. It is always fun last year I dresses as the queen of hearts this year I dresses as
    Eloise that is a old book

  14. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    the thing I most enjoyed was doing the parade and it was obviously quite popular. I dressed up as a character from the Thea Sisters.

    The most recent connection was when we read King Pig as a class. The connection I made was when my cousin was sulking in front the family.

    My favourite book from the shortlists is ………………..The Swap. The quote in that book was if you don’t like something like your brother you’ll probably find that its just the right one .

    From Anika

  15. Dear Ms Baldwin

    What a wonderful week book week was. I especially enjoyed the book, The Swap. I liked that the girl swapped her baby brother many times and then realised he was just right. Sometimes I get cranky with my family and want to swap them but they make me happy no matter how silly they are.

    From Charlie S

  16. Dear Mrs Baldwin,
    The thing enjoyed most about book week was organising my costume and dressing up. It was great to see the whole school getting involved.
    The book that I enjoyed reading most of all was “Silver Buttons” because I like the story line and how everything happened at once when Jodie’s little Brother took his first step.
    The book I can relate to most of all is “King Pig” as he was bossy like my little sister.
    From Ella

  17. Dear Mrs B
    My favorate part of Book week was the parade because it was great fun and I got to dress up as pippy long stockings. I also enjoyed reading king pig at the Library and doing the book week activity. My favorite book we read in the class room was the swap.
    From Kayley

  18. Dear Mrs baldwin,

    We did book week at belerose to. I dressed up as a giraffe from giraffes can’t dance.
    book week at belrose was very fun and it looked fun there to.
    Issabella

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *